Board of Directors

The Board is designed as a forum to bring together representatives from a variety of interests and backgrounds to jointly examine issues, to build collaborations among groups where appropriate, and to collectively strengthen Thurston County's varying communities.

What past Board Members have to say about TOGETHER!:


"The work TOGETHER! does in Thurston County is extremely important. TOGETHER!’s programs have a 20-year history of making meaningful, positive change in the lives of at-risk children.  Every child who is touched by TOGETHER! has a substantially better chance of leading a productive, healthy life."

- Rick Hughes


"The organization’s mission is critically important for our community’s positive future."

- Celia Nightingale


"North Thurston Public Schools has partnered with TOGETHER! in the prevention of violence, alcohol, tobacco and drug abuse among our youth. ... I have witnessed firsthand the positive impact the TOGETHER! program has made on the students in Thurston County.  I am honored to work collaboratively with a community-based organization such as TOGETHER! ... ."

- Karen Johnson

Board Members


TOGETHER! Board Member Glenn Cramer

President: Glenn Cramer

Cramer has years of law enforcement, leadership and state government knowledge and experience. He joined the board in 2010 to "set an example of selfless leadership," which we see him demonstrating.


TOGETHER! Board Member Ed Hildreth

Vice President: Jon Emerson

After following our work for years, Emerson applied for and joined the Board in 2014. He has strengths in business, finance and education and loves kids. Emerson is very active in many of our committees.


TOGETHER! Board Member Gerry Apple

Treasurer: Gerry Apple

After years of partnering with TOGETHER! in other ways, Apple joined our Board in 2012. He is the advisor of the Shelton SADD Club and works with the PASS Board on drug and alcohol prevention in Mason County.


TOGETHER! Board Member Karen Kirkpatrick

Secretary: Karen Kirkpatrick

Kirkpatrick is the city attorney in Tumwater. With a career in the public sector, she offers the Board some great policy and legal experience. "Health and safety are the fundamental building blocks for successful youth," she says.


TOGETHER! Board Member Steve Brooks

Steve Brooks

We welcomed the chief of Lacey Fire District 3 to our board in 2015. Chief Brooks serves on the Thurston County Safe Kids Coalition in addition to other volunteer roles and helps us to build connections in the community.


TOGETHER! Board President Virgil Clarkson

Virgil Clarkson

Clarkson is a City Councilmember and former mayor of Lacey, and a longtime TOGETHER! Board member, our only current member who has served more than 10 years. He's been both treasurer and president.


TOGETHER! Board Member Karen Kirkpatrick

Jose Gutierrez, Jr.

Gutierrez joined the TOGETHER! Board in 2016. (details coming soon)





TOGETHER! Board Member Judy Kimeldorf

Judy Kimeldorf

Kimeldorf has a history of work in school groups and nonprofit management. She joined the Board in 2011 to strengthen the ties between TOGETHER! and Little Red Schoolhouse, which she co-chairs.


TOGETHER! Board Member Vickie Larkin

Vickie Larkin

Thurston County Drug Action Team founding member Larkin joined our Board in 2011 because of our youth-focused mission and her commitment to social service. She is the assistant to Thurston County Commissioner Cathy Wolfe.



Jim Mack

TOGETHER! Board Member Vickie LarkinMack joined the TOGETHER! Board in 2016, but joined Lacey Police Dept. in 1989. Jim is passionate about community based policing and committed to strengthening law enforcement's involvement in community partnerships so together we can develop a healthy, desirable and safe community for all.


TOGETHER! Board Member Vickie Larkin

Dan Nicholson

A local business owner, Nicholson joined our board in October 2014. He is an actively engaged volunteer in the community with a background working in juvenile detention. We're excited to have him on board!


TOGETHER! Board Vice President Celia Nightingale

Cynthia Pratt

Lacey City Councilwoman Pratt joined the Board in 2010. She also serves on the Thurston Council for Children and Youth, and is involved with other youth-focused efforts in the community. She was vice president before being elected treasurer.


TOGETHER! Board Member Dusty Pierpoint

Mary Segawa

After 14 years on TOGETHER! staff, Segawa left in 2010, but remained a steadfast partner of the agency in her new prevention work for the state. She joined us in her new Board capacity in 2014.


TOGETHER! Board Member Michael Smith

Michael Smith

Smith jonied our Board in 2014. He is an assistant principal at River Ridge High School with a teaching career before that, and has previously worked with drug-troubled youth. He's a community volunteer and coach too.


TOGETHER! Board Member Heather Stafford Smith

Heather Stafford Smith

The Board welcomed Stafford Smith to their membership in 2015, excited about her wealth of HR and business knowledge. She says she is looking forward to bringing her technical skills and her perspectives as a working mother to our Board.


TOGETHER! Board Member Karen Kirkpatrick

Cailen Cecil Wevodau

Wevodau joined the TOGETHER! Board in 2016. A Deputy Prosecuting Attorney for Thurston County, she is personally and professionally committed to the health and success of our community’s youth. Once a member of a TOGETHER! youth leadership council as well as a volunteer with Yelm Community Services for many years, Wevodau brings a deep understanding of social service work.


TOGETHER! Board Member Cathy Wolfe

Cathy Wolfe

Thurston County Commissioner Wolfe was brought on as an honorary Board member in 2010. She also worked with TOGETHER! through the Thurston Council for Children and Youth, now renamed as Thurston Thrives' Education & Resilience Action Team.


For more information please contact us.


Mailing Address
418 Carpenter Rd. SE Ste 203
Lacey, WA 98503


(360) 493-2230 ext 20


Send an email



Would you like to join our Board?


If you think you would be able to help TOGETHER! in its mission and wish to be on the Board of Directors, please fill out the application form and email it to us. We will contact you after we receive and review it. Please call TOGETHER! if you have any questions or would like more information.


Click here for the Board of Directors application form.